Rift: More Time Space Anomalies!

I now have a level 14 cleric and a level 8 rogue.  I have put in about 20 hours over the
weekend.  I have to say I am still loving Rift.  So far a few things have jumped out at me
some big some small.
 
First the small stuff.  If you have two corpses lying within a few feet of each other when you
loot one you loot all of them.  Its a really small but really thoughtful thing.  It can be amazingly
time saving, I bet even more for an aoe class.
 
Next up is the Twitter integration.  If you decide to, you can give Rift your Twitter information
for an automatic updated feed.  I’m not a huge Twitter fan but it’s kind of fun to auto tweet
your achievements and your discoveries.  And by discoveries it’s not the parts of the map
that you explore, because that could be horribly spamey.  If you look and item no one on
your server has looted before, that is a discovery.  I actually got one on my character for a
cheesey green item but it was kind of cool.  Also feel free to follow my characters here
 
Now on to rifts.  They are awesome.  Rifts are randomly placed on the map and can spawn
anywhere in the zone.  Rifts have multiple stages that you must go through to seal them off.
They usually start small and each subsequent stage is tougher than the last.  The area is
taken over by an element, so far I have experienced life and fire rifts.  They also have levels
just like quests or dungeons and this reflects the level you should be to take on the
creatures that come through.
 
Another important part of rifts are the public groups.  When you get near a rift a button
appears at the top of your screen to join a public group.  You don’t have to join the public
group but it sure helps.  If you are solo at a rift and there is a 10 man public group, that’s 10
people can tag a mob before you and get the credit for it.
 
And on to the rewards.  Every rift keeps track of your contribution to sealing it.  This
includes both healing and damage in its calculation and assigns a score some how.  The
higher your contribution the more planarite and other rewards you get.  Planarite is a
currency that allows you to buy gear not unlike badges in WoW.  There are also
sourcestones but they are harder to get as you have to complete a large boss (or
something like that).  Rifts to me have been extreemly fun and so far very well blanaced.  As
I understand it, rifts spawn relative to the number of people in the zone.  So when the starter
areas are devoid of life six months now you won’t hardly see a rift and the level 50 areas
will be teeming with them.
 
I have not gotten a chance to try any of the PvP aspects yet as I am not a big PvPer.  I play
on a PvE server because there is nothing I hate more than being ganked by some asshat
undead rogue keeping me in a stun lock.  ****ers.  But here soon I will try one of the
warfronts to see how I do.
 
Thanks for taking the time to read this little summary review thingy.  If you decide to join me
in Telara I hope you have fun.
I will try and get some new player information up here pretty soon but if you have any questions feel free to e-mail me noodle@bbamajam.org and follow me on twitter @bluesphx.  Shard Aedraxis faction Guardians
Leave a Reply

