(Still) Saving Firefly

 

If you are even a little bit of a sci-fi fan then you should have heard of, and hopefully have watched, a short run show called Firefly. Firefly has been lauded by fans for years after, and being a fan myself I must say deservedly so. Firefly can truly be said to be my gateway into TV sci-fi. Sure I’d watched a Star Trek episode here and there throughout my life, but until Firefly I really never appreciated how rich the genre could be. So while Firefly has led me to discover many other great shows, sadly I was too late, as were many, to help save this fantastic show from an early demise. Thankfully the early fans didn’t go down without a fight, and thanks to their participation we got the film “Serenity”. These fans, and many of the latecomers like myself, have kept up the hope that one day Firefly will return.

Well while I’d love to be able to title this post “Firefly Saved!” I sadly cannot. Instead though I can report on a new development that has Browncoats coming uniting again in an effort to save Firefly! What has caused this renewal of the spirit you may ask? Well it’s all thanks to this comment made by Nathan Fillion, who played Mal in Firefly and Serenity.

“If I got $300 million from the California Lottery, the first thing I would do is buy the rights to Firefly, make it on my own, and distribute it on the Internet.” – Entertainment Weekly (Feb 17, 2011)

Of course like the organizers of the campaign ‘Help Nathan Buy Firefly‘ I can’t help but wonder if it’s merely a wishful comment, or perhaps an offhanded comment by Fillion. Regardless though I am optimistic and so are many fans that at the very least action and donations may help raise awareness and maybe eventually allow Fillion to really buy the rights.

If you’d like to follow these developments and see what you can do then check out www.HelpNathanBuyFirefly.com

Leave a Reply

