.hack-athon Around The World in (Under) 80 Days

Welcome to The World, the most popular MMO in existence.  There are millions of characters roaming its servers, getting into all kinds of adventures.  Some are there to quest, some are there to keep order, and some are there to cause a little chaos.  Don’t worry, though.  There are all kinds of rules in place to keep you safe.  Don’t pay any attention to those rumors about unbeatable monsters, hidden dungeons,  legendary items, or players falling into comas.  Feel free to jump right in and explore The World, and the world of .hack.

The .hack series is an interesting beast.  There are many franchises that exist in anime, manga, novel, and videogame form, but .hack tells a continuous story through all of its versions.  The plot that begins in an anime carries on into video games and is fleshed out with manga and novels, instead of endless filler or fluff stories.  It takes a lot of work to make all of these parts fit together without contradicting, and it’s a feat I wish were repeated more often.  See, I’m a fan of all of those fields, which you can tell if you check out my previous reviews.  No matter what mood I’m in, there’s always something .hack that I can turn to.  So that’s why, on a day I was feeling especially ambitious, I decided I was going to review my way through all of the .hack material that had been released in English.  Please, join me in my journey.  Click on the links below to read my thoughts, and feel free to leave your own thoughts or discussion points in the comments.

 

Entries:

 

Part 1:  .hack//Sign

 

Part 2:  .hack//Liminality:  In the Case of Mai Minase

 

Part 3:  .hack//INFECTION

 

Part 4:  .hack//Liminality:  In the Case of Yuki Aihara

 

Part 5:  .hack//MUTATION

 

Part 6:  .hack//Liminality:  In the Case of Kyoko Tohno

 

Part 7:  .hack//OUTBREAK

 

Part 8:  .hack//Liminality:  Trismegistus

2 comments

  1. Loving the reviews so far. You are doing justice to the .hack series. Keep it up. thinking of going and doing a marathon of the games myself.

  2. Thanks, I really appreciate the support. A bit nervous about this, since the series has a lot of fans, didn't wanna post a bunch of crap.


Leave a Reply

