Zippy Lately (November 22 – November 28, 2010)

1. Black Rock Shooter RPG

For Black Rock Shooter fans such as myself the last couple weeks have been full of ups and downs as rumors of a sequel to the OVA rose up, got shot down, and then kind of just got set out as an eventual possibility. Understandably then I have taken further news regarding Black Rock Shooter with a grain of salt without official confirmation from a chief source.

Thanks to Japanator I have now been informed that game creators Imageepoch are going to unveil a Black Rock Shooter RPG on November 24th, along with a few other games they are developing. I’m not familiar with Imageepoch, and I’m barely familiar with JRPGs since they’re not a genre I care for; however, I love Black Rock Shooter, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to play this in the near future. Oh and in case you were wondering, as I was, if the original source was legit feel free to check out the story here (use Google Translate). To check out the live company announcement, happening 2PM Japanese Standard Time on November 24th, then go here.

To check out the trailer for the Black Rock Shooter game watch the embedded video below.

2. Buffy the Vampire Slayer’s Back?!?

While I only watched a few episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer in my time, I had several friends that loved, and continue to love, the show. Being a fan of Joss Whedon myself, I have to appreciate at the very least where Whedon’s career in Film/TV began, first with the Buffy film script and then with the TV Show. Somehow 1997, the year Buffy the Vampire Slayer tv show began, doesn’t seem that long ago. However Hollywood in all it’s wisdom decided it was time to make a remake for film. Whedon, who is not a part of this project, has shared his comments, and you can read them here along with more news about the story.

3. Happy Labor Thanksgiving Day!

Labor Thanksgiving Day, a creation by the Japanese government, sounds like it’s just a blend to short change the Japanese populace of a vacation dayf. However, seeing as how the Japanese already have a plethora of holidays, there must be another reason, right? Indeed there is! According to the website Kids Web Japan Labor Thanksgiving Day is really much like our labor day, in the sense that this is a holiday to recognize the accomplishments of workers. While the holiday is said to date back for thousands of years, at least in various locales, according to Kids Web Japan the holiday became official only after World War II. So for those of you who appreciate the days off you may already be getting for Thanksgiving (U.S.), but perhaps want just one more, join me in celebrating Japan’s Labor Thanksgiving Day!

Leave a Reply

