Why Sam & Dean Winchester should be your best friends: Supernatural Review

As many of you have noticed, it is almost Halloween (Shocking, I know — moving on.)  I thought that it would be fun to introduce you all to one of my current fangirl obsessions: Supernatural.  For those of you that may not know, Supernatural is a show about two brothers (Dean and Sam Winchester) who hunt evil and learn about their family history along the way too.  They drive a black ’67 Impala which has been affectionately dubbed “Metallicar” due to the oldest brother’s taste in music.  I really don’t want to give away spoilers so I will do the best I can to squee and fangirl without giving away too much!

So back when I was unemployed and had no other extracurricular activities, I used to live on Twitter.  I happened to be talking with a cast member of another show I am currently into, Degrassi.  She recommended that I watch Supernatural because it was her current favorite.  Now at this point, I had never heard of the show and was curious to see what made her love it so much.  What I didn’t know at the time was how much this show would consume my free time, my money, and eventually my life.  Anyway, back to the story!

I decided to check out the first pilot episode to gauge my interest in the show first.  Before the opening credits rolled I was already hooked.  Scary stories, sometimes known urban legends, mixed with hot guys in a hot car?  Yes please!  I enjoyed every minute of it and decided I had to get caught up to the current episodes as soon as possible, because I had heard there was a new season coming up.  I then proceeded to force my boyfriend to watch the first four seasons in the course of a couple of weeks.  Once we were caught up, there was no stopping the fangirl obsession! 

Let’s start with just things I like about the show.  I love the main actors (for obvious reasons) and I also love the storylines.  They deal with everything from ghosts, to demons, to Wendigoes and even vampires.  I also love how they incorporate so much of the lore from each of these creatures in every episode.  I love hearing the stories and legends and typically will go read up on them afterwards.  I’m just a sucker for a good ghost story I guess.  Oh, and I forgot to mention one tiny little detail.  These brothers are hunters who also just happen to be trying to stop the Apocalypse from actually occurring.  No biggie.

If you have a soft spot for stories about demons, angels, vampires, the Apocalypse or just wanna see two good looking guys for one hour every week this show is for you.  For me it just keeps getting better, and I can’t wait to see what happens next week!

One comment


Leave a Reply

