Zippy Lately (October 4 – October 10, 2010)

1. Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

Japanator has described Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt as ” the most divisive show of the season”, and it’s easy to see why. The show’s Powerpuff Girls-esque art style, mature content, and over-the-top humor make Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt seem like a natural companion to Shin-chan, which in itself is quite a divisive show. Thanks to Crunchyroll, and the insistence of a friend, I’ll be watching this show in full. If you’re at the very least curious about Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt, and you should be, then I suggest you go to Crunchyroll and give episode 1 a shot.

2. David Tennant: The 10th Doctor

You may have seen my review of Doctor Who: The Complete First Series on the site. Either way having now completed that initial season I have now moved on to season two featuring a new Doctor played by David Tennant. David Tennant, who has only recently stepped down to let an 11th Doctor fill the void, was the name I associated with Doctor Who early on thanks to repeat conversations with Doctor Who fanatics. Having heard nothing but praise about his role actually almost turned me away from the show for fear that nothing could live up to the high laurels given to him and the show by fans. I am finding currently though that I am enjoying this new season every bit as much as I did the first season featuring David Eccleston as he Doctor. Perhaps too since Tennant’s tenure as Doctor is significantly longer than Eccleston’s I might grow to appreciate his work even more as so many fans of the series have.

3. 2011 Otkau-related Calendars

We may be several months away from the New Year; however, many calendars are already hitting the shelves. In stores such as Books-A-Million I’ve already seen a couple anime calendars, a World of Warcraft calendar, and a couple more generic Asian culture calendars. On the con circuit, and online as well, I’ve seen many domestically produced calendars often featuring geek models. One of the stand-outs I’ve come across is the Cosplay Deviants calendar, which is comparably more SFW than their website. Often the most overlooked, although by no means unpopular, there are plenty of anime, music, and idol calendars from Japan that can be purchased on sites like J-List and CD Japan. If you’re looking for a calendar for an anime series not yet stateside, or for your favorite member of Arashi, AKB48, or any other J-Idol group then the internet is likely your only source for such materials. I usually receive a calendar every year, although sadly I rarely use it. Having done research for this post though I’ve come across many unique calendars that have caught my eye, so maybe this will be the year I look forward to each month’s unveiling.

One comment

  1. I'm thinking about getting a Japanese calendar because I'm getting fed up with the quality of the US calendars. It's been a long time since we had a Bleach calendar, and the 2011 FMA calendar has the same pictures from the first one 5 years-ish ago, and you think they have one with Brotherhood by now. /endrant


Leave a Reply

