Zippy Lately (August 16 – August 22, 2010)

1. Suggestions? Comments? Complaints?

We’ve been running BBAMAJAM.org in one form or another for almost a year now and I want to take the time to see what you think? If you have any thoughts, opinions, suggestions, complaints, etc. just please go to the bottom of this post and write us a comment. This can be anonymous or not it doesn’t matter.

2. Moving!

Don’t worry the website is not moving. Instead four current contributors are, and all four are moving to the same household. That’s right myself, Nick, Jaziel, and The Cay (from Tokyo Tower) are all moving in to the same place this week. I sense a reality show! Seriously though aside from the move itself being a significant event in our lives I see this as being advantageous to the website and especially to our productivity. While the internet is a powerful entity ideas transmit even more quickly in person. Items we’ve considered, such as a podcast, may now potentially become a reality. Of course this may just be my optimistic nature divulging idealized hypotheticals; however, if our powers are combined I feel we can achieve much more than we have now so that we can give to you an sublime experience.

3. MyFigureCollection.net

I’ve already discussed how the development of social networks can benefit otaku-dom in a roundabout fashion a la GoodReads.com Now though more than ever before social networks have formed with the sole purpose of reaching the otaku fanbase. For ‘figureheads’, aka anime figure collectors, you too now have a community site in full swing in the form of MyFigureCollection.net I do not know if this is the only figure collection social network; however, I can vouch for it’s popularity and its addictiveness. I never saw myself being a figure collector, partly because I’ve shared so much personal space in dorm rooms, home with my family, etc. However, even before I knew I’d be moving in with my fellow BBAMAJAM club members, I found MyFigureCollection.net and caught the bug. Currently I still only have a few full figures (i.e. the pricey ones), but I’ve collected a number of the tradable/capsule figures and I’m loving it! My latest acquisition, a figure of Simca from Air Gear, I found this past weekend while at SukoshiCon. I’ve just added it to my page http://myfigurecollection.net/profile/zippy, so feel free to check out my profile and the site while you’re at it. I think you’ll find it to be a wonderful haven for us figureheads.

Leave a Reply

