Miyavi Neo Tokyo Samurai Black Tour Concert Review – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade July 1st, 2010

So, raise your hand if you like Miyavi….awesome!  Now, raise your hand if you like going to concerts….sweet!  Then this post was made for YOU my friends!  That’s right; I am going to chronicle my fangirl experience so commence girlish squealing!

Ok, so I was super excited that Miyavi was coming back to Atlanta after having to cancel last year due to passport issues and other problems.  I also didn’t think I was going to get to go due to some personal issues, but everything worked out and BBAMAJAM’s own Zippy (along with his brother and The Cay) gave me a ride and off we went!

The ride down there was awesome as usual and full of talking, jokes, and food.  We also got lost on the way down there which was…let’s just say “exciting”.  The cool part is that we thought we were running late, but when we got there we found out the concert wasn’t actually starting for almost another hour.  Needless to say, there was a collective sigh of relief once we all got inside. 

Before the concert started we went ahead and picked up our obligatory concert swag.  I scored a small poster, a pen and a tour shirt!  WOOT!  Once that was done we wandered around to find our place for the show, which ended up being right beside the sound booth (cool right?!)  At this point, we didn’t have long to wait and I was getting so impatient!  (Typical fangirl…)

As soon as he stepped on stage I dissolved into a shrieking, flailing, scream-singing fangirl!  Speaking as someone who has never seen Miyavi in concert, I have to say the man is beyond amazing.  He is a true showman, a talented musician and just an incredible artist!  It was so much fun watching him dance and get into the music with everyone else.  At one point he even played the guitar behind his head!  The audience was energized and he was feeding off our vibes.  For someone who is a fan of Miyavi, I was surprised at how few songs I recognized as he played through the set list.  It made me realize just how big a catalog he actually has, and I am now determined to learn every last one of his songs!  

I think my favorite part would have to be when he jumped INTO the audience to collect gifts and high five people.  Not only was it incredibly touching, but it was also very brave!  After the main set we all chanted to have him come back out, and he didn’t disappoint!  He played an encore, and then sadly it was time for us to go.  Even though I was SUPER tired the next day, I definitely think the concert was worth it.  Anyone who has not seen Miyavi, I strongly urge you to do so as soon as you get the chance — you won’t be sorry!  And everyone should pick up his new album that comes out in September!

I also want to take a moment to say how extremely comfortable and air conditioned the indoor portion of The Masquerade in Atlanta was (much more pleasant than The Tabernacle).  Also, for those that were not aware, The Masquerade also has a field behind it with a huge stage where I came a few years back to see the Honda Civic Tour with Panic! At The Disco, Phantom Planet, Motion City Soundtrack and so it sort of had special memories for me already.

As far as concerts go it was definitely one of the best experiences I’ve had, and I hope to do it again one day! I also want to add that if you haven’t already join Miyavi’s fanclub!  You get nifty little newsletters and postcards and pictures…swoon!  Miyavi FTW!

Leave a Reply

