Zippy Lately (July 5 – July 11, 2010)

1. Highschool of the Dead

Ever since George Romero popularized the zombie genre with his films audiences worldwide have hungered for more and more mind-less gore! (Puns very intended.) While I’m not a huge zombie film fan myself, I can’t deny my fascination with zombies. I myself have often discussed with friends and co-workers various zombie plans in the case of a zombie apocalypse. Likewise I’ve had the opportunity to play and enjoy a variety of zombie games. Sadly though, in my opinion, anime really had no offering for the soft and hard core zombie fans in the world. Now though one of my favorite manga Highschool of the Dead (HotD) has been adapted in all it’s B-film gloriousness into what looks to be a promising anime. Thanks to Sentai Filmworks HotD will be brought over with a dub to the US, and thanks also to Anime Network HotD’s first episode is streaming online! In my opinion, this is one of the most promising shows this season, so I highly recommend it if you like horror, zombies, fanservice, and Romero-style entertainment!

2. Anime Expo (AX) Licenses FTW!

Are you an anime addict? Does your cash flow feel like it’s slipping out of reach? Well then I have great news (for the addict side), because with tons of great licenses announced at Anime Expo this past week you’ll get the chance to satisfy your addiction and empty your wallet purchasing some or all of these awesome series!

While Anime News Network has a plethora of press releases and news articles covering the licenses, I’ll go ahead and mention some of my favorites. First of all, as I mentioned above, is Highschool of the Dead being licensed by Sentai. Next up is a show I’ve never seen but my friends, and favorite podcasters, all seem to rave over. That show is Durarara and it’s being brought over to the US, with dub, by Aniplex of America. Finally rounding out the majority of the licenses I’m looking forward to FUNimation licensed J-Drama Moyashimon for simulcasting, Darker Than Black 2, Shakugan no Shana 2 & OVAs, the Trigun film, Hellsing Ultimate Vols. 5-7, along with rescued titles including Hellsing (original, Serial Experiments Lain, and everything Tenchi. So many great new shows, a wonderful mix of 90’s titles, along with the first J-Drama for FUNimation a la Moyashimon! I couldn’t be more excited if I tried!!!

3. 1-Day Conventions

Perhaps this is just a response to a crowded Southern con circuit, or more of a response to the economy, but 1-day conventions seem to be popping up all over the place. In my region these range from Atlanta Anime Day, which began primarily as a dealer’s room and a cosplay contest and has now branched out to two other cities, to DayCon in Clarksville, TN, which promises panels, dealer’s room, costume contest, a concert from The Man Power, and much more! Having seen the success that MomoCon has, a local 48-hour free con, I’m not surprised that people would gravitate towards such events. In a region with a couple notably larger cons such as ours I imagine having some smaller, perhaps more local, mini-cons can help provide fun for fellow otaku, while not competitively taking away too much from the established conventions. I hope to, and expect to, see more of these in the future.

Leave a Reply

