My Initial Impressions of FMA: Brotherhood Ep. 1

Let me just say the title’s a bit of a misnomer since really at this point I’ve been following Funimation’s sub releases of FMA: Brotherhood for some time. However, watching the dub for the first time gave me insight both on the cast, change-ups and all, and again refreshed my initial thoughts when starting the series for the first time.

Right off the bad I wanted to thank whoever decided to put Yui’s “Again” as the opening because frankly it’s just a rocking song. I loved Fullmetal Alchemist’s original soundtrack, and with this song I got the feeling I was going to love these ones too. Getting past that though and into the episode itself I was also quite thankful for where the anime began. Much like in the original Fullmetal Alchemist, which had a notably different story in the first episode, instead of immediately hammering home the brother’s egregious error, you’re dropped right into action, and teased with much foreshadowing instead of being hit over the head with it .Of course, as happens so often when fighting, the brothers secret is revealed; however, I know the impact of their deviance won’t be dealt with till later episodes, possible the second one since really up until episode 16 I believe the original anime and FMA: Brotherhood share really the same plot line.

Setting the story aside for a moment anyone who watched Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood tonight probably had one major question in mind – will the dub cast recapture the magic, even with a few new voices in the FMA family? All in all I’d have to say yes I think they did a marvelous job. Vic Mignona (Ed) and Travis Willingham (Col. Mustang) immediately seemed to have that old spark back, and through the dejavu I knew that the old chemsitry was back! No dub cast is without issue though and I know for me personally it’s going to take me a long while to get used to Alphonse’s voice, voiced by Maxey Whitehead.  Alphonse voice sounded so absurdly young and puny to me, but I’m willing to let a voice grow on me, and I shall certainly try to let that happen with Alphonse’s new voice.

Aside from the story and the voice cast I wanted to lastly mention that the art is spectacular. I loved the art in the original series, but this for me matches the quality that we saw in the Fullmetal Alchemist movie. I wouldn’t even mind if the art was the same as before, but this may be the most difficult difference when trying to watch the original, well at least till the stories truly divulge.

Anyways all in all based on one episode dubbed, and many episodes of Brotherhood subbed, I can only say that this is going to be as amazing, if not more so, than the original. The first Fullmetal Alchemist series will most definitely always have a special place in my hearts, but I already know for first time watchers of FMA, and maybe even folks new to anime, I’ll be sliding them the FMA: Brotherhood dub and emphatically say, you have to check this out.

One comment

  1. Even for the first episode, it’s like watching a lost episode of the original FMA that never aired in the US that finally gets dubbed. :DIt was comforting hearing the voices of Vic, Sonny, Chris, and the original cast again. I was impressed with Al’s new voice actor… I was fooled for a second thinking it was Aaron. ^^


Leave a Reply

