Con Report – AWA 2009 Day 3

On day 3 of AWA, I slept until 10 am, and was thrilled!  I still felt sick, which brought me down a bit, but I didn’t have much planned for Sunday, anyway.  But, before I could even think about getting over to the con, I had to check out of my hotel room.  Ummm….there are a few stories I could tell about this, but I think it’s safer for me if I don’t.  I’ll just say my personal check out experience had the potential to be nice and easy, but it did not turn out that way. 

So, moving on, time for the last few hours of AWA.  There were still some things I wanted to get the voice actors to sign, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle standing in the cramped lines with how I felt.  So instead, I walked around the dealer’s room again.  Even though I had promised myself I wouldn’t buy anything else, I broke down and bought a couple of plushies.  Simon and Kamina in tiny plush form…how could I say no?  I said goodbye to a few friends, saw more awesome costumes, and tried to soak in as much of the experience as I could. 

After a while, I was tired, and went back to check on my group’s progress in the lines.  Yeah…I was going to be there for a while.  So I found a nice empty area of the floor near the autograph lines, and sat down.  People came and went, while I watched all the crazy goings-on in the lines.  There are some weird people at these conventions, and I love it!  After a while, my group started to trickle in, and we all met up where I was sitting.  Finally, after all the autograph fun was over, we all left the convention, and headed to our cars, ready to say goodbye to Anime Weekend Atlanta. 

Of course, the craziness didn’t end there.  We had a nice group meal on the road home, which was a great way for us to all cool down after the high energy weekend.  And then, we came home.  To flooding.  So much fun.  Someone who will not be named drove her car through water that was up to the hood of her car.  I was unable to drive my car home, and had to come back the next day to get it.  But, when I finally got home…I actually missed all the insanity of the weekend.  It’s like this every year.  There are things that drive me crazy all weekend, but what I remember most is all the fun I had.  

So, to everyone who was at Anime Weekend Atlanta with me this year, I hope you all had an amazing time.  I hope you’ll share your stories and pictures, because the experience is different for each of us.  If you didn’t make it this year, then I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about just a bit that went on.  Maybe you’ll get to join us next year.

Leave a Reply

