Con Report – AWA 2009 Day 2

Day 2 of AWA started bright and early at 6 am for me.  Why so early, you ask?  Well, that’s when I woke up sick.  Yes, sick at AWA.  I was not a happy camper.  So let’s just say I spent a good chunk of the day in my room, and move on from there. 

At 3 pm, I finally ventured my way out to the con.  To be honest, a lot of the day is kind of a blur, because I was on some medicine.  I remember grabbing some food with my friends, and spending some time hanging out in the dealer’s room again.  There was lots of walking around and wishing I had even more money to spend.  There were also lots of amazing costumes, and people I considered going up and talking to, but then deciding I would just embarrass myself in my current state.  Typical con fun, really. 

Eventually we made our way into a corner in the hallway to sit down and relax.  At this point, I brought out my secret weapon, to cuddle and make me feel a bit better.  Yes, that’s right, Usa-chan made his AWA debut hidden away in a corner.  While a certain member of my group went crazy taking pictures of a Harry Potter gathering, I curled up into a ball, laughed some, and tried to build up my strength for the night ahead. 

At 8 pm, most of my group went to line up for yet another adult panel.  Along the way, I stopped off into a bathroom to change into my sad attempt at a cosplay.  I was pajama Hunny, from Ouran Host Club!  Hey…I liked it.  Anyway, we were there an hour early, so we had a pretty good spot in line.  Except, 15 minutes before the panel was to start, we found out it was actually starting at 10 pm.  Oh, you silly schedulers with your mistakes!  So, after an unbearably long time standing in line, we finally proceeded into the room to grab really nice seats.  While the panelists were getting set up, we were treated to some fun involving a police officer and a paddle.  See, this is why I go to these panels…there’s crazy stuff happening all the time, and I end up laughing for hours. 

The panel got started, and there was plenty of yelling and high excitement.  Dirty jokes, dirty images, dirty songs, dirty games…that’s the heart and soul of this panel.  And this year, they really got going.  As the hours went by, my group started disappearing one by one.  It was getting later and later, and everyone realized they had to check out of the hotel the next day.  So finally, at 1:30 am, I left the panel, and headed back to my hotel.  Along the way, the fire alarm went off, and part of the building was evacuated.  It sounds much more exciting than it actually was. 

Back in my room, I attempted to be productive, but quickly realized I still felt like crap.  I hopped in bed, cuddled up to Usa-chan, and drifted off to sleep.

Leave a Reply

